Margate School District

Margate City School District pupils are housed in two separate facilities: the Eugene A. Tighe Middle School constructed in 1956, and the William H. Ross III Elementary School constructed in 2000.

  • A 24 million dollar addition, renovation project, and new school construction occurred in 1999.
  • The elementary school houses the district administrative offices and grades K-4. The middle school houses grades 5-8.
  • Total student enrollment as of MAY 2018, is approx 330.

Margate City School District Website

Each building is serviced by special area teachers for music, physical education, visual arts, technology, and a media center. In addition, a Child Study Team is available for children with special needs. The team consists of a school psychologist, social worker, learning disabled teacher/consultant and speech therapists.

Overall responsibility for the education of children within the City of Margate lies with the district’s Board of Education. Seven members, appointed by the Mayor for staggered terms of three years.

Margate Board of Education Members (Expiration of Term)

  • Catherine Horn, President (2020)
  • Tracy Santoro, Vice President (2020)
  • Lisa Youngblood, Esq.  (2021)
  • Joel Frankel (2019)
  • Jim Swift, Esq. (2021)
  • Jack Sorensen (2019)
  • Amy Brog (2021)

Dr. Thomas Baruffi.

Superintendent of Margate Schools; Director of Special Projects & Grants; Director of the Dominick A. Potena Performing Arts Center

Teresa Osborne. Secretary to Superintendent of Schools

Jennifer Germana.
Board Secretary and School Business Administrator

Mr. Ryan Gaskill.
Principal – William H. Ross Elementary School; Director of Special Education; 504 Coordinator; Homeless Liaison; Anti-Bullying Coordinator

Carol Gitto. Secretary of Special Education

Mrs. Audrey Becker.
Principal – Eugene A. Tighe Middle School; Director of Curriculum, Assessment, and Technology

Mrs. Laureen Cohen,
Supervisor of Instruction

Catherine Horn.
President, Margate City Board of Education